My ‘Sensible Decision’

With the tough feelings of GroSGlockner Lauf still in my mind, the physio’s elbow bruises in my stuck hamis still from 4Trails and a bit of a sensible head on about the coming up sky race Giir di Mont and more importantly the TransRockies, I decided to leave Canazei to my team mates and head to Telfes with fellow kiwi Jono Wyatt to one of our favourites…Schlickeralm Lauf http://www.schlickeralmlauf.com/

Usually, the higher, the colder and the steeper it gets the better feel and can usually catch up to some of my faster friends. But unfortunately due to terrible weather across the Alpsthis weekend the course had to be shortened by 2km and 300m less climbing. The snow was down to 2000m and at that altitude the rain was also turning to snow. My aim for the race was to run the whole thing…even if it meant I was running slower than I could walk…I was going to run. And I did gaining spots throughout the race and finally finishing in 6th in 1.04.40hr. Sarah Tunstal from GB won after a huge injury break, followed by an international field with athletes from Slovakia, Czech, Kenya and Germany. Jono was 3rd behind 2 and in front of 2 Kenyans.    

Sylivia, Sarah and Me

Just like usual, I bring the snow to this race and the organisers bring hot tea, kaiserscharrn and a smile to the finish line. Always such a treat.

I returned to Canazei to rejoin the Salomon Team who also had their course changed due to snow and ice conditions (see results here: http://www.dolomiteskyrace.com/) as well as Tom who had travelled to Germany to participate in Karwendel Lauf which was cancelled due to snow.

We now head to Premana – North of Milano for our next race – Giir di Mont www.aspremana.it/asp/content/view/14/30/lang,en/

…but not before we get in the Canazei Vertical Km before breakfast!   

One thought on “My ‘Sensible Decision’

Leave a Reply

