Oh, the Places You’ll Go! Dr. Seuss

Well, I never did write about Cavalls as I said I would. There could have been a few reasons…

Firstly, with the sad death, due to hypothermia, of fellow racer Teresa Farriol, celebrations felt wrong. She was yet another reminder how short and special our lives are and that we should spend as much of that time as possible living, loving and sharing our passion with people and places close to us.

Secondly (and perfectly), I jetted directly to the UK to spend some non-running time with my fabulous family . I shopped the London streets, I wined and dined with my sister, I drank coffee with MuleBar Jimmy, I ate fish and chips with my Grandparents in the freezing cold at a lighthouse on top of some white cliffs in Bridlington, I played rugby with my little cousins and uncle, I held on tight to my big cousins at the Hull Fair as we whizzed around rides, I cuddled my new baby cousin and then jetted back to Barcelona.

And then I could give many other excuses like:

-         I drove to Annecy to start a wonderfully Salomon supported apparel design project. Sharing my passion for travel, running and art has been a real journey and exploration of many different aspects of my life. I can’t give away any clues, except that it looks amazing and we begin prototypes this week!!!

-         My shin pain flared up during Cavalls and has been painful since. So I am now into my 3rd week of not running. Fortunately I have been able to get my endorphin hit by going to the VISAFORM gym every spare minute of the day. I have really enjoying revisiting the New Zealand founded Les Mills classes  like Body Balance, Pump and RPM as well as meeting new people to do my French/English skits with.

-         Annecy is such a cool town that in the late evenings when I could write this I would rather wander the beautifully lit up old streets lined with stunning flowers and majesty.

-         I have started reading a book after a long time of not reading and have really enjoyed how ‘fulfilling’ it has been, stopping to think, not necessarily even about the book. Just to stop. And to think.

The Cavalls race was tough. Mentally and physically. But then which 85km race with 6000m vertical in the rain isn’t going to be? I didn’t get quite the same feeling for Cavalls as I did for say TransVulcania or in the Dolomites, but then maybe it is because they are Nuria and Kilian’s mountains. That is where their energy comes and goes. We all have our magical spots.

Les Templiers is up next, in 9 days actually. It is 71km with 3000m vertical so there is going to be a lot more faster running. It is the final of the SkyRunning Ultra Series so worth 20% more points. I am in first equal with Nuria so the winner will be whoever is first out of us both. I know Nuria put all her energy into Cavalls. But she is strong and would really deserve this series win. Emelie Forsberg will be running with even more mental strength and now with the experience in her legs so her speed should bring her home pretty quickly. As for me? Well? My ‘glass legs’ will tell me. If they are still sore leading up to the race, I will not stress them more. It is more important for me to be ready for TNF50 in San Francisco, but even more so to be healthy.

“You’ll get mixed up, of course, as you already know. You’ll get mixed up with many strange birds as you go. So be sure when you step. Step with care and great tact and remember that Life’s a Great Balancing Act. Just never forget to be dexterous and deft. And never mix up your right foot with your left.” Dr. Seuss Oh, the Places You’ll Go!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Oh, the Places You’ll Go! Dr. Seuss

  1. Hey Anna,

    I love your sensitive attitude towards life! To me, you and your positive spirit are kind of a role model:-) (and actually, not many people serve as this to me).

    See you one day on the trail:-) !

    Best from Hong Kong,
    Nina

Leave a Reply

