Moonlight Marathon

Officially now my most favorite race in the WORLD!

The marathon distance mountain trail with about 2400m vertical is one of the toughest but most rewarding race I have done. You are surrounded only by mountains, your shadow and the odd merino sheep. You run through native forests, along historical gold mining trails, over untouched summits, on exposed exciting ridge lines, splash in waterfalls and pure river beds.

Check out the website for results, gallery and information on the other races (30km, 21km, 10km and 5km – something for everyone) for you to enter next year!

Here are some pictures that cannot do this race justice but it is a start!

4 thoughts on “Moonlight Marathon

  1. A stunning race and definitely one of the toughest races I have done and thank you for having a photo taken with me at the finish.

  2. Anna, I want to thank you immensely for helping out with the race. As my first mountain race I had no idea who you were as I checked in and had my bag inspected. I had to go and get some more gear and you were there when I came back, cheerful and full of hope. Then I saw you on the course the following morning and you were so encouraging with your cheering! Not that it surprises me to find out you are such an accomplished runner, but it did make me so much happier to add to my Shotover Moonlight Marathon having experienced a joy that seemed to exude from you. It is an infectious feeling and it is certainly a privilege to brush up against such sheer love of the sport . Thank you!

Leave a Reply

