A Glitch in the System

After a fantastically rewarding summer at home and adventures in New Zealand…

Running Queenstown to Dunedin…

Record smashing in Taranaki…

Racing the Moonlight Marathon…

And the Greenstone – Caples loop…

My body has finally said ‘STOP’.

Last Saturday at 1.22hr into my run my foot went snap. I had already had a tight foot joint, added with the slight wonky running technique (probably emphasised by a sore shoulder from skidding my way day Taranaki) I think was just too much stress on an already weak point in my foot. Sunday I made it to 2.45hr before it snapped again…and that was it.

It is frustrating…as you can imagine. But it is not that I can’t run that is frustrating, it is not that my bone is stressed that is frustrating. What is frustrating is that I thought I had everything well managed. Good nutrition, a healthy weight, a regular menstrual cycle and of course happiness.

After a lecture from my dear friend Matt (2 already this year) he explained to me, that when you love something, you want more of it, and when you can have more of it, you take it. I am incredibly lucky. I do what I love for a living…but this is also going to be my weakness. I just can’t say no to a stunning run, a new race, the feeling of adrenaline buzzing through my legs as I am stomping up a raining mountain, the freedom of the trails.

I am taking precautions – in a moonboot and trying to use crutches, but I think I am going to upgrade the crutches to a kick scooter – until I get my results back from the bone scan.

Until then no weight bearing…but swimming with a pool buoy, weights in the gym, core strength, perfecting my golf drive, coffee with friends and time with my family…life could be worse.

10 thoughts on “A Glitch in the System

  1. Anna, I am so sorry to read this–and I admire your tone and courage. (I was in an identical boot when I broke my foot and couldn’t run for 3 months, but it was an avulsion fracture from a fall, not a stress fracture … still, I have a small sense of what you’re going through.) I bet you will be as committed to your recovery as you are to your training, and thus your bone will heal–time will heal–and you’ll come roaring back. Hang in there.

  2. I’m sorry about your injury Anna. I heard your interview on Talk Ultra and enjoyed it greatly! Hope you heal soon and this doesn’t set back your plans for this year. Happy healing running vibes sent your way.

  3. i know how you feel, this time last year i was happily enjoying getting good kms under my belt and getting in some good races and in may 2011 something in my knee went. Nothing showed up on xrays ir mri’s but 7 months later i finally get diganosed with a stress fracture of tibial plateau via a bone scan. 10 months later, with 2 months of those on crutchers, i still havent ran a step and still in alot of pain, so get referred for a bone density test which shows that im osteopenic (which is one step away from osteoporosis,meaning i have very light bones) so not sure if running will ever be in my future again, and if so will never be at the same level. it has been a very hard year for me both mentally and physically. so good luck for your recovery, all i can say is you are lucky you are getting it sorted straight away and have the right people around you, i wasnt so fortunate with that. have you ever had or thought of getting a bone density test done? all the best kristy.

  4. It’s not great that I ‘like’ this post, but it is great that I get to come and share some of your runs. If I could I would grab more as well. Had to fill in a form/questionaire at work today.
    “what’s the best thing about work” – being able to run home.
    “what’s the worst thing about work” – not being out running.

  5. Anna,

    It’ll all work out. I ruptured my plantar fascia tendon in my right foot halfway through last season. It came shortly after running the second fastest known time of the 142 mile long Kokopelli’s Trail in Utah. I too thought that I was doing everything right. Training, diet, weight, etc. I believe everything happens for a reason. Though we often don’t know what that reason is.

    I’m now towards the end of my rehab foot and I am hoping to come back stronger than before. This time though with a better understanding of what my body can and can’t do. I guess there is a little truth to the saying, ” too much of a good thing can be bad for you.” Do what you have to to get healthy, enjoy the downtime with friends and family. Their support will be very important during the whole process . Then get back to doing what you do best girl. Wishing you a speedy recovery.

    Cheers,

    David W.

Leave a Reply

