The GR131

I am in the final hard week of training before the TransVulcania race (for more info about it go to: www.transvulcania.com) so that meant a long day out on the course. I left from the El Paso visitors centre and headed up the steepest and quickest way to the GR131 to get going on the race route. I was blessed with a cloudless day…well for that moment, as the weather can change within minutes here…and I could see across to El Pilar where the race route comes from.

It was a constant climb for the next 3.30hrs but with continuous change in climate, terrain, foliage and colours of the volcanic rocks and cliffs I hardly noticed the time go by.

With clouds building in the valley and steadily climbing up to the ridge, I put in a bit of a burst to get to the Roque Muchachos – the Observatory (with more than 75% clear nights and the worlds largest telescope) which looked more to me like a parking space for the aliens and more importantly for me it is the highest point in the race at 2426m.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4apDrpx-3KI&feature=share

From here it is 18km down, down, down to Tazacorte Porte and another 6km meanly back up to Llanos to the finish.

I have learnt to enjoy running downhill but mentally I still lack the concentration to keep going hard all the way down, but my usual love for the uphill goes into over drive for the last 30killer-minutes up a cobbled banana plantation road.

I have 2 more long runs this week and then it is time to step back from the intense training and enjoy the beaches and cafes. I have tried to do 4-5hrs a day of running, swimming, biking, aqua jogging and walking/playing in the sea which I feel has got me to a pretty good standard. I would show you my ‘Movescount’ (an online training diary) but I am having issues with it….coming soon! but it looks a little something like this…http://www.movescount.com/moves/move5202670

This race is going to challenge me in every way. I am nervous and excited and a little scared about the unknown…but…bring it on!

4 thoughts on “The GR131

Leave a Reply

