SpeedGoat 50km

I have never gone into a race feeling so unconfident physically. I have had the last 7weeks with pain in my legs from over doing it at the start of the year. After the first two weeks of trying to accept the pain I finally gave in and hit the ibuprofen. I know, I know, I know…but it hurt! Two days ago – 5weeks later – I stopped taking them…and started training for SpeedGoat…which is 2days away.

Scree bombing on Red Mountain – San Juans

I got a taste for the Leadville100 race by running down and up the power lines track but it still isn’t steep enough for me and I can feel the pain through my ankle joints. The physical strength I have right now is from the enthusiasm of the HardRock100 mountains and TonyKs inspiration for 14ers which has totally rubbed off on me. I can power hike up and down the side of those big mammoth mountains with some confidence especially now that I am feeling a little more acclimatised to the high altitudes and therefore not a lot of oxygen to breathe. But that still isn’t running around the SpeedGoat course for 50km. I also wanted to be in leaner body shape by this time, but with the delicious cookies and muffins and smoothies that are so readily available after our big mountain missions, I have not managed to shake as much fat and fluid retention as I would have liked.

Stomping up Yale with TK – photographer

Mentally though I feel great. I have felt progress in my pain. I have summited some incredible mountains with passion filled people. I have spent fun days in the sunshine with new and old friends. And I am about to go into a race to compete. This is something I miss and love. I hope my body remembers how to run…I hope it transfers some of that 14er strength to the trails…and I look forward to lining up with and battling to the end no matter what with a stacked field of runners.

7 thoughts on “SpeedGoat 50km

  1. Hi Anna,

    I have full faith in your abilities, but sometimes taking a prolonged break due to injuries, matter more than racing. Please take good care of yourself love.

    Regards,
    F

  2. I feel the same way. I’ve been doing 14ers the last few weeks, now I think I have a bruise in the bottom of my foot(if it’s not a bruise it’s a broken bone, so I’m saying bruise), and I’m supposed to do Pikes Peak Marathon in a few weeks. Not feeling particularly ready. I’m sure you’ll do great, though. What you’ve been doing has made you strong for sure, and we all know you have plenty of speed in those legs! You’ll crush it out there!

  3. I am super excited for you to experience the Speedgoat course. It is hard to tell from your post if your body is ready, but it definitely sounds like you are mentally ready. And if you don’t mind, it don’t matter. 😉 Unfortunately, I will be very far in the back and won’t be able to see you drop in out or out of Hidden Valley or fly through the tunnel or experience Peruvian Ridge or probably even see the awards ceremony at 2:30. I hope to encourage my 10 year daughter to get some video footage, though. You’ll have a blast!

  4. ” I also wanted to be in leaner body shape by this time, but with the delicious cookies and muffins and smoothies that are so readily available after our big mountain missions, I have not managed to shake as much fat and fluid retention as I would have liked” That’s the story of my life, girl. Don’t sweat it. You are strong, beautiful and an inspiration. You earned your cookies.

Leave a Reply

